Glenn B. Gastwirth, DPM, Honored with Namesake Award | News | APMA
Glenn B. Gastwirth, DPM, Honored with Namesake Award

March 20, 2016

APMA Executive Director and CEO James R. Christina, DPM, presented his predecessor, Glenn B. Gastwirth, DPM, with the Executive Director’s Award on Saturday, March 19, at the APMA House of Delegates meeting in Washington, DC. The award has been renamed in Dr. Gastwirth’s honor: The Glenn B. Gastwirth Leadership Award. 

Glenn Gastwirth at HOD 2016“I am proud to be a podiatrist and an APMA member,” Dr. Gastwirth said, reflecting on his time at APMA. Dr. Gastwirth stepped down as APMA’s executive director and CEO in October 2015 and officially will retire in May. He expressed his thanks to the house for their dedication to the profession. “I’m as excited about this profession as when I first served as a delegate 43 years ago. I am absolutely confident that the best days for our profession lie right in front of us.” 

Dr. Gastwirth spoke of how far the profession has come and how quickly. “Our training programs are second to none in medicine,” he said, giving much of the credit to CPME for establishing the highest educational standards and having the integrity to ensure the standards are met by residency programs and colleges. 

Looking toward the future of the profession, he encouraged leaders at every level to come together like never before. “It’s critical if we want to advance,” he said.

Dr. Gastwirth reflected on his mentors: Oliver “Ollie” Foster, DPM, and Theodore “Tedi” Clarke, DPM, who advised him to “always create positive podiatric visibility.” He also mentioned Earl Kaplan, DPM, and Irv Kanat, DPM, calling them visionaries for the profession. Dr. Gastwirth thanked his family, staff, and Dr. Christina for their efforts and dedication to supporting the profession’s advancement.

Leave Your Thoughts

Please sign in to leave a comment

Check out the APMA Buyers Guide for all your podiatric office needs!