Houses of Delegates Supports and Advances Profession | News | APMA
Houses of Delegates Supports and Advances Profession

March 20, 2024

Dr. Santi is installed as President

Delegates from across the country gathered this weekend for the 2024 House of Delegates meeting. The assembled leaders discussed, debated, and voted upon issues ranging from unification of certifying boards to supervision of physician extenders.

"The House of Delegates, which represents all members of APMA, made enormous strides in carrying out APMA's mission to defend podiatric physicians," said Lawrence A. Santi, DPM, APMA president. "We are particularly delighted that the house was able to pass Policy Proposition 2-24, which codifies APMA's support for the unification of the two CPME-recognized certifying boards, resulting in a single, unified certifying board." This proposition also articulated APMA's support for the cessation of the issuance of a CAQ in surgery.

Budgetary Action Item 3-24, which also was adopted, establishes a task force to work with a broad group of stakeholders to explore pathways for the unification of the recognized certifying boards.

The House of Delegates welcomed Ira Monka, DO, president of AOA, as a special guest. Dr. Monka addressed shortages in health-care workers and spoke about the importance of advancing our professions in order to best serve our mutual patients.

The house honored APMA Executive Director and CEO James R. Christina, DPM, at his final House of Delegates meeting before his retirement on March 31, and thanked him for his tireless commitment to the profession, its members, and its patients. They participated in a diversity, equity, and inclusion training, and received reports on a variety of ongoing APMA initiatives. They engaged in townhall discussions of topics such as supervising physician assistants and the hiring challenges faced by smaller practices.

Dr. Christina presented the Glenn B. Gastwirth, DPM, Leadership Award to Peggy S. Tresky, MA, APMA senior director, Communications, Marketing, and Membership, in recognition of her 14 years of dedicated service to APMA and the profession.

The House of Delegates witnessed the installation of President Santi and also elected several officers and members of the Board of Trustees:

  • Brooke Bisbee, DPM, AR, was elected president-elect.
  • Patrick DeHeer, DPM, IN, was elected treasurer.
  • David Alper, DPM, MA, was re-elected to a three-year term as a trustee.
  • Jane Andersen, DPM, NC, was re-elected to a three-year term as a trustee.
  • Holly Spohn-Gross, DPM, CA, was elected to a three-year term as a trustee.
  • Lauren Wurster, DPM, AZ, was elected to a two-year term as the young physician trustee.

Watch for further reporting this week, including a link to all final, adopted versions of policy propositions, budgetary action items, and more. APMA extends its sincere appreciation to the delegates, alternates, and other leaders whose commitment to the profession made this weekend's advancements possible.

Leave Your Thoughts

Please sign in to leave a comment

Check out the APMA Buyers Guide for all your podiatric office needs!