APMA Announces Board of Trustees for 2015–2016 | APMA
APMA Announces Board of Trustees for 2015–2016

March 23, 2015

Brielle Day

WASHINGTON—The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) introduces its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held at the 95th Annual House of Delegates meeting at the JW Marriott in Washington, DC.

Phillip E. Ward, DPM, has assumed the office of APMA president, replacing Frank Spinosa, DPM. Dr. Ward practices podiatric medicine in Durham, NC, and will serve as the chief representative of APMA’s more than 12,500 podiatrist members across the country. Dr. Ward was installed as president by his daughter and APMA member Meredith L. Ward, DPM, at the annual meeting of the House of Delegates, marking the first time an APMA member was installed by his or her daughter.

“I am honored to assume the role of APMA president, especially in light of the unprecedented current health-care environment,” said Dr. Ward. “I pledge to continue to work tirelessly for today’s and tomorrow’s podiatrists in my role as president, advocating for and promoting our members as the physicians, surgeons, and specialists that we are.”

Dr. Ward outlined the many ways that APMA is unique in the podiatric medical profession, including its impressive advocacy record, its involvement in public health, its relationship with other medical organizations, its support for students and residents, and more.

Other elected officers include: R. Daniel Davis, DPM, as president-elect; Ira H. Kraus, DPM, as vice president; and Dennis R. Frisch, DPM, as treasurer. Jeffrey DeSantis, DPM, and Lawrence A. Santi, DPM, were each re-elected to three-year terms, and Patrick A. DeHeer, DPM, was elected to a three-year term.

Elected Leadership:

President Ward, of Durham, NC, has served on the APMA Board of Trustees since 2004, while continuing to help expand scope-of-practice laws in both North and South Carolina. He has served on 11 different committees, including the Legislative and Health Policy Committees. 

President-Elect Davis, of Orange, CT, will be returning for an 11th year on APMA’s Board of Trustees. Dr. Davis has served as the chair of several committees during his tenure, including the Resolutions and Vision 2015 Committees. He has previously served as president of the Connecticut Podiatric Medical Association.

Vice President Kraus, of Chattanooga, TN, will be returning for an eighth year on APMA’s Board of Trustees. As a board member, Dr. Kraus helped improve communication with other medical associations including the American Academy of Family Physicians, AMA, American Osteopathic Association, and the Society for Vascular Surgery.

Treasurer Frisch, of Boca Raton, FL, will return for a ninth year on APMA’s Board of Trustees. Dr. Frisch currently chairs the Annual Meeting Committee and serves as the Annual Meeting Committee liaison on the Development Committee. He is also a member of the Podiatry, Pharmacy, Optometry and Dentistry (PPOD) Workgroup at the National Diabetes Education Program.

The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is the nation's leading professional organization for today’s podiatrists. Doctors of Podiatric Medicine (DPMs) are qualified by their education, training, and experience to diagnose and treat conditions affecting the foot, ankle, and structures of the leg. APMA has 53 state component locations across the United States and its territories, with a membership of more than 12,500 podiatrists. All practicing APMA members are licensed by the state in which they practice podiatric medicine. For more information, visit www.apma.org. 

Media Contact

Peggy S. Tresky, MA

Director, Communications and Marketing



Subscribe, browse, or contribute to JAPMA